Government: parliamentary democracy with President and members of Parliament elected every five years. The President is Head of State and Government and is elected for a renewable 5 -year term.

Area: 582,650 sq kms

Climate and geography: The Equator runs across the middle of Kenya, Equatorial forest, Tropical and low plains, rising to central Highlands bisected by the Rift valley; fertile plains in the west, with savannah and desert in the north.

Natural resources: Gold, fluorspar, limestone, soda ash, salt, rubies, garnets, hydropower, geothermal power, arable land, wildlife and nature reserves and a skilled and well educated workforce.

Population: 52.57 million (2016) Sixty percent (60%) below the age of 35

Ethnic Groups and Religion: 44 ethnics groups with different traditions and languages.

Main languages: Kiswahili (National language) and English  (official language)

Main GDP Composites: Agriculture, Manufacturing, Tourism and Services, Diaspora remittances.

Agricultural Products(main): Cut flowers, Coffee, Tea, fresh fruits and vegetables, Avocados, Poultry, beef.

Neighboring countries: Tanzania, Uganda, South Sudan, Ethiopia and Somalia

Currency: Kenya Shilling.


Structure of Kenyan Government in line with the 2010 Constitution:

 The government of Kenya consists of the Executive, the Legislature, the Judiciary and the Devolved Government.

The Executive

The President, the Deputy President and the Cabinet constitute the Executive arm of the Government.

The President is the Head of Government, Commander-in Chief of the Kenya Defense Forces, and the Chairperson of the National Security Council.

For further information visit:

The Deputy President is the President’s Principal Assistant.

For further information visit:

The Parliament

Kenya’s Parliament consists of two Houses: The National Assembly and The Senate. For further information visit:

The Judiciary

The Judiciary is divided into Superior and Subordinate courts, The Superior courts are  the  Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal and the High Court. The Supreme Court is the highest court in Kenya.  The Subordinate courts are: the Magistrates Courts, the Kadhi Courts, and the Tribunals.

For further information visit:

The Devolved Government

The Kenyan 2010, Constitution established 47 Counties, each with its own government.  The County Assembly and the County Executive.  The County Governor heads the County Executive. The 47 Counties are: Mombasa, Kwale, Kilifi, Tana River, Lamu, Taita-Taveta, Garissa, Wajir, Mandera, Marsabit, Isiolo, Meru, Tharaka- Nithi, Embu, Kitui, Machakos, Makueni, Nyandarua, Nyeri, Kirinyaga, Muranga, Kiambu, Turkana, West Pokot, Samburu, Trans Nzoia, Uasin Gichu, Elgeyo- Marakwet, Nandi, Baringo, Laikipia, Nakuru, Narok, Kajiado, Kericho, Bomet, Kakamega, Vihiga, Bungoma, Busia, Siaya, Kisumu, Homabay, Migori, Kisii, Nyamira and Nairobi.